Searching Our Entire Library Collection (Also See Databases Below)
- Newspaper Search (by Article Title)Try this tool to find newspaper articles, also found at the top of Primo.
- Journal, Magazine, or Newspaper Search (by Publication Title)Find which journals, newspapers, and magazines we have access to, and which databases they are in (also found at the top of Primo).
- Primo [Homepage]Search the entire library by key word, author, article title, or publication.
- Find An Article by Title or Other Citation InformationThis "citation linker" is a way to search for a specific title, author, etc.
- Fulfillment Services (ILL) [Search]In the Primo search, click on "Still Didn't Find What You Need?..." at the top & request from Fulfillment Services.
Newspaper & Magazine Databases
- FactivaBrowse front page and current articles from Wall Street Journal, New York Times, Washington Post, etc.
- ABI-Inform Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Business publications like The Wall Street Journal & The Economist. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Large collection of newspapers and magazines. - American Historical Periodicals (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
American newspapers & magazines, 1684-1912. - ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Magazines & journals on religion & scripture. - Christian Periodical Index This link opens in a new windowMagazines & journals with Christian focus.
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
American newspapers & magazines, 1923 & on. - Newswires (AP, UPI, etc.) This link opens in a new windowAssociated Press & other newswire services.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Best place to find The Atlantic & Atlantic Online and many other news publications and business & legal sources. - U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowThe New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, LA Times, & Chicago Tribune
Individual Subscriptions & Archives of Magazines
- National Geographic Virtual Library This link opens in a new window
Every issue of National Geographic, with images, 1888-2015. - The Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2015 (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
Archive of every issue of The Economist, 1843-2015. - Science | AAAS formerly Science Magazine This link opens in a new window
Magazine founded by Thomas Edison. Can register for free account. - Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Weekly magazine covering college issues.
Finding Magazines & Newspapers On the Web
To learn what is being discussed in our culture or find current events & opinions, "popular press" articles are where it's at. Use Google to look up your topic just to see what pops up, and also use Google to search for the name of a publication (such as those suggested below) plus your topic.
Try opinion, feature, & news articles in publications like National Review, Wall Street Journal, The Atlantic, The New York Times, Reason, and Psychology Today for political and cultural issues.
It's important to try different perspectives. For example, National Review is conservative while Reason is libertarian and The Atlantic is progressive. Google will often emphasize certain political perspectives, which is why it's helpful to search by publication title plus your topic to ensure you get different perspectives.
For Christian perspectives & issues, try magazines online: First Things, Christianity Today, Relevant, The Gospel Coalition, Charisma, and Christ & Pop Culture.
Browse the "front pages" as a way to find a good issue to research!
Also browse our Factiva database for the "front page" newspaper experience for WSJ, NYT, & WaPo with full access to articles.
Look through CQ Researcher database or procon.org on the web for collected articles on both sides of issues. And visit our current "Print Periodicals" section in the library.